Lanzarote Hotels


In the Atlantic Ocean, Lanzarote is a Spanish island and forms part of the Canary Islands.

Lanzarote is approximately 125 km (78 mi) off the coast of Africa and 1,000 km (621 mi) from the Iberian Peninsula. Lanzarote covers 845.9 square kilometers (327 sq miles) and is the fourth largest of the Canary Islands.

The capital of Lanzarote is Arrecife, whith a population of 59,000. The majority of the inhabitants are Spanish, with a sizable number of residents from other European nations, mainly British, Germans Irish, Colombia, Morocco, Ecuador, Western Africa, China and India.

Arrecife Airport is an international airport and for the past 40 years tourism has been the main income generator for the Lanzarote economy.

Lanzarote is divided into seven municipalities and is part of the province of Las Palmas: Arrecife municipality, Haría municipality, San Bartolomé municipality, Teguise municipality which includes Isla de La Graciosa and four smaller islets which include Alegranza), Tías municipality, Tinajo municipality and the Yaiza municipality.

Prepared by: SEO Consultant London